Alyssa lies

I only own Alyssa. The song is by Jason Michael Carroll

My little girl met a new friend, just the other day,
on the playground at school between the tires and the swings
But she came home with tear-filled eyes,
and she said to me “Daddy, Alyssa lies”

Ember ran into Sun Hill Police Station looking for her father Dale Smithy. She saw him and she rushed and jumped on his lap.

“Papa, my new friend Alyssa lies.” She cried wrapping her arms around her father.

Well I just brushed it off at first,
’cause I didn’t know how much my little girl had been hurt
or the things she had seen.
I wasn’t ready when I said “You can tell me”

and she said…

“Darling what do you mean?” Smithy asked thinking that she might had a fight with her friend. “You can tell me.”

Ember looked up in tears.

Alyssa lies to the classroom,
Alyssa lies every day at school,
Alyssa lies to the teachers
as she tries to cover every bruise

“She lies about her bruises, Papa she lies about bruises.” Ember cried into Smithy’s shoulder and he looked at Gina in shock.

“Honey do you know how the bruises happen?” Smithy asked.

“Her papa give them.” Ember replied.

My little girl laid her head down that night to go to sleep.
As I stepped out the room, I heard her say a prayer so soft and sweet
“God bless my mom and my Dad and my new friend, Alyssa
oh, I know she needs you bad .

That night Ember laid her head down to sleep and she prayed as Smithy listened at the door and he sighed.

Because Alyssa lies to the classroom,
Alyssa lies every day at school,
Alyssa lies to the teachers
as she tries to cover every bruise

Ember went to sleep then and Smithy cried in quiet as he went to his bed where Kerry was waiting.

I had the worst night of sleep in years
as I tried to think of ways to calm her fears
I knew exactly what I had to do
But when we got to school on Monday I heard the news

Smithy laid on the bed and when morning came he went to the school with Ember only to hear that his little girl’s friend Alyssa Kent had died because of the hands of Gabriel.

My little girl asked me why everybody looked so sad
the lump in my throat grew bigger
with every question that she asked.
Until I felt the tears run down my face
and I told her that Alyssa wouldn’t be at school today

Ember looked around confused. She couldn’t figure out why everyone is sad and she turned to Smithy.

“Papa why is everyone sad?” She asked quietly.

“Honey I have some bad news about your friend Alyssa, sweetie she won’t be at school today.” Smithy said crying.

‘Cause she doesn’t lie in the classroom
she doesn’t lie anymore at school
Alyssa lies with Jesus
because there’s nothin’ anyone would do

“No-one reported the bruises before you told me yesterday. Alyssa is with Jesus now.” Smithy said not sure how to tell her anyway else and Ember threw herself at him crying.

Tears filled my eyes when my little girl asked me why
Alyssa lies
Daddy tell me why
Alyssa lies

“Papa why does Alyssa lies, Daddy please tell me why she lies?” Ember cried and Smithy just held her as he took her home to Kerry.

The End

Leave a Reply

