Invisible Disability

This topic is a huge thing in my life because I have Ehler’s Danlos Syndrome Type 3 and 6. I have noticed that not a lot of people know about Invisible Disability or believe that they exist.

Imagine always being in pain, constant- 24/7, every day of the year. I feel this, some days can be better and other days I just want to sleep.

I’m used to it but have noticed sometimes strangers can be extremely rude.

On Mondays, I go bowling with my disability service and use a ramp, this is fine with my staff because they know my wrist can get sore sometimes. On one particular day, I got the ramp when a person that I never met before came over and tried to grab it from me.

Luckily one of my best guy mates stopped her and I explained that I needed it, she said that I didn’t because I don’t have a disability.

Don’t judge people by how they ‘look’, just because they look like they don’t have a disability doesn’t mean that they don’t. There is many disabilities that have no visible symptoms and people can’t look inside someone’s body.

They can’t see what their muscles and bones look like. Sometimes they can walk or use the normal toilets but there might be days where they will require the disability toilet for many different reasons.

Please think about that before telling someone off for using a disability toilet, park or equipment. Remember you can’t see inside their bodies. Pain is invisible and a huge struggle for some people.

Leave a Reply

